Where do I file for divorce in Bell County?

How do I file for divorce in Bell County?

The basic steps necessary for divorce in Bell County, Texas for Pro Se filings are as follows:

  1. Prepare Forms.
  2. File Petition.
  3. Notify Spouse.
  4. Draft Final Divorce Decree.
  5. Attend Pro Se Clinic.
  6. Present Case in Court.

Where do I file for divorce in Bell County Texas?

Via Mail: All filings should be mailed to: Joanna Staton Bell County District Clerk Attn: Civil Clerk P.O. Box 909 Belton, TX 76513.

The base fees for filing a case in Bell County are as follows:

  • Civil $262.00.
  • Divorce $268.00.
  • All Other Family $253.00.

Can I file for divorce at my local courthouse?

While you technically can file for divorce at the courthouse, it would probably prove not easy in reality if you are not prepared. … Otherwise, some attorneys work at the law library to ask for assistance with filing your divorce papers.

Do you have to file for divorce in the county you live in Texas?

You may file for divorce in Texas even if you do not have legal status in the United States, if you or your spouse has: lived in Texas for at least the last 6 months, and. lived in the county where you file for divorce for at least the last 90 days.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Which ethnic group has the lowest divorce rate?

What is Pro Se Divorce?

“Pro se” is Latin for “in one’s own behalf.” In divorce, pro se means you represent yourself in a divorce rather than hire a lawyer as your representative. Pro se divorce is only recommended if your divorce is uncontested and does not involve any complex issues involving marital assets or children.

How do I check the status of my divorce in Texas?

How to Find Texas Divorce Records Online. Obtaining Texas divorce records online is fairly simple. Visit the Texas.gov Vital Records Application. This application can be used to order birth certificates, death certificates, marriage verification, and divorce verification.

How much does it cost to change your name in Bell County Texas?

The fee to file your Assumed Name with Bell County is $11.00 plus $4.00 for additional pages to file and $2.00 per certified copy.

How do I start the divorce process?

Step by step guide – Applying for a Divorce Order

  1. Step 1: Register for a Commonwealth Courts Portal online account. …
  2. Step 2: Create a new Application for Divorce. …
  3. Step 3: Complete your Application for Divorce. …
  4. Step 4: Get your Affidavit for eFiling Application witnessed. …
  5. Step 5: Upload your Affidavit for eFiling Application.

What paperwork do I need to file for divorce?

To open a divorce case, you will need to file these forms:

  • Family Court Cover Sheet – Required.
  • Complaint for Divorce – Required.
  • Summons – Required.
  • Joint Preliminary Injunction – Optional.

What do I need to get divorced?

To get a divorce, you will need to file an application for divorce. You can choose to file either a sole application or a joint application. You are the applicant and your spouse is the respondent. (eg a Justice of the Peace (JP) or lawyer).

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Do you need a lawyer to get a divorce in Jamaica?